2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: Argentina

Argentina will play in their 15th FIFA World Cup this year in South Africa. Argentina is currently ranked at number 8 on the FIFA rankings. The Argentinian national football team is currently coached by former star player Diego Maradona (sometimes the subject of controversy off the pitch) who took up the job in 2008.

Argentina won the FIFA World Cup in 1978 (when they hosted the tournament) and in 1986 in Mexico. Argentina has also won the Copa América 14 times (a record shared with Uruguay), won the FIFA Confederations Cup in 1992 and the Olympic Football Tournament in 2004 and 2008. They are one of the most successful footballing nations in history.

Javier Zanetti is the most capped Argentinian footballer in history. He has played in 136 matches for Argentina since 1994 and he’s still an active player. Gabriel Batistuta is the highest scoring Argentinian footballer in history. He scored 56 goals for Argentina in 78 matches when he played for his country between 1991 and 2002.

Argentina are definitely one of those football teams who are not to be underestimated. They have been drawn into the same group as Greece, Nigeria and South Korea in the 2010 FIFA World Cup. They will probably make it into the Quarter Final stage of the tournament.

Argentina are scheduled to play in 3 group matches in the 2010 FIFA World Cup:

  • 12 June 2010 – Argentina vs Nigeria @ Coca Cola Park, Johannesburg – Kickoff at 16:00
  • 17 June 2010 – Argentina vs South Korea@ Soccer City, Johannesburg – Kickoff at 13:30
  • 22 June 2010 – Argentina vs Greece @ Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane – Kickoff at 20:30

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen − eleven =