2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: Australia

The Australian National Football team is nicknamed the “Socceroos”. They will be playing in their 3rd FIFA World Cup in 2010 in South Africa. Australia played in their first FIFA World Cup in 1974. Australia reached the round of the last 16 teams at the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.

FIFA ranks Australia as the 14th best team in the world. They were one of the first countries to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The first Australian National Football team was constituted in 1922. Australia holds the world record for the biggest win in an international match. They beat American Samoa 31 – 0 in 2001. In 1955 Australia suffered their biggest loss in history against South Africa (8 – 0). They’ve played 62 matches against New Zealand over the years.

Alex Tobin is the most capped player in Australian soccer history. He played in 87 matches for his country between 1988 and 1998. Damian Mori holds the record for the most goals scored by an Australian player. He scored 29 goals in 45 matches between 1992 and 2002. Australia could be responsible for one of the upsets at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, who knows? Australia faced the 2010 FIFA World Cup hosts, South Africa in a friendly match in 2008 which resulted in 2 all draw. In 2005 Australia also played against South Africa in Durban and drew 1 – 1. The Australian National football team has been coached by Pim Verbeek (former player from the Netherlands) since 2007.

Australia will play in the following 3 group matches in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa:

  • 13 June 2010 – Australia vs Germany @ Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban – Kickoff at 20:30
  • 19 June 2010 – Australia vs Ghana @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg – Kickoff at 16:00
  • 23 June 2010 – Australia vs Serbia @ Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit – Kickoff at 20:30


Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

8 + 17 =