2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: Ghana

A few teams from Africa will be playing in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. The Ghana National Football team is commonly known as the “Black Stars”. Before Ghana gained independence from Great Britain Ghana played football as the Gold Coast.

In 2006 the country played in their first ever FIFA World Cup in Germany. Ghana has won the Africa Cup of Nations 4 times, in 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982. The Ghana Olympic Team, the “Black Meteors” became the first ever African country to win a medal for Football at the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona, Spain. Ghana is currently ranked by FIFA as the 32nd best team in the world.

The country won the award for Most Improved Team in 2005. The Ghana Football Association was founded in 1957, a year before the country’s independence. Ghana achieved their biggest win against Kenya in 1965, beating them by 13 – 0. Brazil was responsible for Ghana’s biggest loss in 1996 when they beat them 8 – 2 in Brazil. Abédi “Pelé” Ayew is Ghana’s most capped player and he also holds the record as the top goal scorer for the country. He scored 33 goals in 73 matches. Milovan Rajevac (from Serbia) is the current Ghana football coach (since August 2008). Ghana will definately be one of the African contenders to watch at the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The junior Ghana football won the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup which was hosted by Egypt.

Ghana will play in the following group matches in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa:


  • Ghana vs Serbia – 13 June 2010 @ Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria – Kickoff at 16:00
  • Ghana vs Australia – 19 June 2010 @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg – Kickoff at 16:00
  • Ghana vs Germany – 23 June 2010 @ Soccer City, Johannesburg – Kickoff at 20:30

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − eleven =