2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: Mexico

Mexico will be playing in its 14th FIFA World Cup. They made it to the Quarter finals of the FIFA World Cup in 1970 and 1986. Mexico hosted the FIFA World Cup tournament in 1986. The country has also played in 5 FIFA Confederations Cup tournaments since 1995. They won the FIFA Confederations Cup in 1998.

In 1987 Mexico beat the Bahamas 13 – 0 (the country’s biggest win in history). In 1961 they lost 8 – 0 against England (the country’s biggest loss in history). Claudio Suárez is the most capped footballer in Mexican Football history. He represented Mexico in 178 matches between 1992 and 2006. Jared Borgetti is the top scoring player in Mexican football history. He’s scored 46 goals in 89 appearances so far. He’s still part of the Mexican national squad.

Earlier in 2009 Javier Aguirre (from Mexico) took over from Sven-Göran Eriksson (from Sweden) as the Mexican National Football team coach. Soccer is the most popular sport in Mexico. They will be definately be a team to keep an eye on in the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Mexico is playing in the opening match against South Africa in the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Here’s a list of matches that Mexico will play in the 2010 FIFA World Cup:

  • Mexico vs South Africa – 11 June 2010 @ Soccer City – Kickoff at 16:00
  • Mexico vs France – 17 June 2010 @ Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane – Kickoff at 20:30
  • Mexico vs Uruguay – 22 June 2010 @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg – Kickoff at 16:00

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 1 =