2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: Serbia

Before 2006 the Serbian national football team was known as the Serbia & Montenegro football team. Before 2003 that team was known as the Yugoslavia national football team from 15 January 1992. Between 1921 and 1992, the team did not exist as we know it today, since Serbia was part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia (1918 – 1943) and later on, of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (1945 – 1991). The Serbia national team existed from 1919 to 1921, but ceased to exist following the creation of the first Kingdom of Yugoslavia.

However, the Football Association of Serbia is a FIFA member since 1921 and a UEFA member since its creation in 1954. The Serbia national team is recognized, thanks to a mutual consent between both FIFA and UEFA, as the direct descendant of the Yugoslavia national team. Hence, the new national team formed in 1992 inherited of the full status, results, and achievements from Yugoslavia, which was not the case for any other country resulting from the breakup of Yugoslavia. Consequently, it did not have to apply to obtain a FIFA and UEFA status. A similar situation happened following Montenegro’s decision to secede following a referendum held on 21 May 2006. Once more, Serbia inherited of the Serbia and Montenegro full status, and did not have to apply for a FIFA and UEFA status, while Montenegro was obligated to do so.

Serbia is currently ranked at number 13 on the FIFA rankings. Radomir Antić is the current couch of the Serbian national football team. He took over from Miroslav Đukić in 2008. Dejan Stanković is the current captain of the team. He has been playing for F.C. Internazionale Milano in Italy since 2004. Serbia will technically be playing in their 12th FIFA World Cup in 2010 in South Africa. Yugoslavia was one of countries that participated in the first FIFA World Cup in 1930. Yugoslavia finished 4th in the 1930 and 1962 FIFA World Cup tournaments.

Serbia will be playing in the 3 following group matches in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa:

  • 13 June 2010 –  Serbia vs Ghana @ Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria – Kickoff at 16:00
  • 18 June 2010 – Serbia vs Germany – Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth – Kickoff at 13:30
  • 23 June 2010 – Serbia vs Australia @ Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit – Kickoff at 20:30

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 + 11 =