2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: South Korea

The Football governing body FIFA recognizes South Korea as Korea Republic. South Korea have qualified for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. They are part of the AFC (Asian Football Confederation).

Huh Jung-Moo is the current head coach of the South Korean National Football team. He took over from the former coach Pim Verbeek (from the Netherlands) in December 2007. 4 different Dutch coaches have coached the South Korean National Football team over the years. South Korea have won the Asian Cup 2 times (in 1956 and 1960). They made their first appearance at the FIFA World Cup in 1954.

South Korea will compete in their 8th FIFA World Cup in 2010. South Korea ended in 4th place in the 2002 FIFA World Cup. The country co-hosted the competition with Japan in that year. They made history by being the first Asian team in history to reach the Semi Finals in a FIFA World Cup tournament. The 2002 South Korean FIFA World Cup team was coached by Guus Hiddink (from the Netherlands). Since 2002 Football has become very popular in South Korea, even surpassing baseball as the sport in South Korea which pulls the most spectators.

South Korea qualified for the 2001 FIFA Confederations Cup but were knocked out in the first round. In 2003 South Korea achieved their biggest win by beating Nepal 16 – 0. They suffered their biggest defeat when they played against Sweden in 1948, losing 12 – 0. South Korea is currently ranked as at #49 on the FIFA Rankings. Hong Myung-Bo is most capped player in South Korean Football history, he represented his country 136 times. The is also known by fans as “Jeonsa” (Taegeuk Warriors), “Reds Devils” and the “Tigers of Asia”.

It will be interesting to see how South Korea will perform in this years FIFA World Cup in South Africa. It’s not a good idea to underestimate a team in the FIFA World Cup. Anything can happen. South Korea proved this in 2002.

Match schedule for South Korea in the 2010 FIFA World Cup:

  • South Korea vs Greece – 12 June 2010 @ Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth – Kickoff at 13:30
  • South Korea vs Argentina – 17 June 2010 @ Soccer City, Johannesburg – Kickoff at 13:30
  • South Korea vs Nigeria – 22 June 2010 @ Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban – Kickoff at 20:30

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 3 =