2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: Spain

Spanish football is controlled by Real Federación Española de Fútbol. The Spanish National Football team is commonly known in Spain as “La Furia Roja” or “The Red Fury”.

They are the current European champions, they won the UEFA European Championship in 2008. This is the 13th time that Spain will be playing in the FIFA World Cup. They reached 4th place in the 1950 tournament, the best they’ve performed to this blogger’s knowledge. In July 2008 Spain was ranked at #1 on the FIFA World Ranking list. Spain is definately one of the favorite teams to win the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. It would be an amazing achievement for the team if they pull it off.

In 2009 Spain made it into the record books by winning 15 consecutive times. This winning streak was broken when they lost to the United States in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup Semi Final in South Africa. They ended 3rd in the tournament after beating the hosts in the 3rd/4th place playoff. Vicente del Bosque is the Spanish National Football team’s current manager. Spain should make it in the Quarter Final stage of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Spain will be playing in the 3 following group matches in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa:

  • 16 June 2010 – Spain vs Switzerland @ Moses Mabhida Stadium – Kickoff at 16:00
  • 21 June 2010 – Spain vs Honduras @ Coca Cola Park – Kickoff at 20:30
  • 25 June 2010 – Spain vs Chile @Loftus Versfeld Stadium – Kickoff at 20:30

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − 9 =