2010 FIFA World Cup Teams: United States of America

The United States of America have qualified for the 2010 FIFA World Cup. This will be the 6th consecutive and 8th overall FIFA World Cup that the country competes in. The United States played in its first FIFA World Cup in 1930. They managed to reach 3rd place in that year’s competition (the best they’ve ever done in the FIFA World Cup tournament).

Soccer is not the most popular sport in the United States but it has grown in popularity since the 1970s. The United States hosted the 1994 FIFA World Cup. The final of that year’s tournament was played at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. The United States have competed in 4 FIFA Confederations Cup tournaments over the years and achieved their best result in history in the competition in 2009. They reached the final of the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup in South Africa, but lost to Brazil in the final at Coca Cola Park Stadium in Johannesburg. The United States are currently ranked at #11 on the FIFA Rankings. The country is part of CONCACAF, the North American Soccer Confederation.

The United States Soccer team is currently coached by Bob Bradley (since 2006). Cobi Jones is the most capped player in United States soccer history. He represented his country 164 times between 1992 and 2004. Landon Donovan is the top goal scorer in United States soccer history. He’s currently still an active player and has scored 42 goals in 115 matches. Landon Donovan has been involved in US soccer since 2000. The United States National Soccer team are also referred to as “The Yanks”, “The Stars and Stripes”, “The Red, White, and Blue”.

I’m sure that the United States will be one of the teams to watch in South Africa when they play in the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The United States has really improved it’s soccer in the last few years.

The United States will play in Group C in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. They will be playing against England, Algeria and Slovenia.

Group Match Schedule for the United States in the 2010 FIFA World Cup:

  • United States vs England – 12 June 2010 @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg – Kickoff at 20:30
  • United States vs Slovenia – 18 June 2010 @ Coca Cola Park, Johannesburg – Kickoff at 16:00
  • United States vs Algeria – 23 June 2010 @ Loftus Verfsveld, Pretoria – Kickoff at 16:00

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − 5 =