2011 ICC Cricket World Cup Enters Semi Final Stage

Last week the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup move into its 2nd stage. Teams for 8 countries competed in its Quarter Final phase: Pakistan, West Indies, Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and England

On the 23rd of March Pakistan took on the West Indies in Dhaka (in Bangladesh). Pakistan dominated the match and bowled out the West Indies for 112 in the 44th over of their innings. Pakistan reached the target without losing a wicket in the 21st over of their innings.

On the 24th of March Australia took on India in Ahmedabad (in India). Australia batted first and reached a total of 260/6 (thanks to a 100 by captain Ricky Ponting). India lost 5 wickets in their innings but reached the target in the 48th over of their innings.

On the 25th of March South Africa and New Zealand played their quarter final match in Dhaka. New Zealand batted first and were in trouble after losing 2 wickets in the first 6 overs of their innings and with only 16 runs on the scoreboard. The Black caps recovered though, thanks to a 83 by Jesse Ryder. At the end of their 50 overs New Zealand were on 221/8. The Proteas came in to bat. Despite losing an early wicket, they managed to recover nicely. They were on 108/3 in the 24th over of the match. The Proteas’ batting line-up collapsed though and the were eventually bowled out fro 172 in the 44th over of the match.

On the 26th of March England took on Sri Lanka in Colombo. The English batted first and managed to score 229/6 in their innings (thanks to a 86 from Jonathan Trott and a 50 from Eoin Morgan). Sri Lanka managed to reach their target in the 40th over, without losing a wicket (thanks to 100s from Tharanga and Dilshan).

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup now enters its Semi-Final stage this week. New Zealand, Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan are the only 4 teams remaining in the competition. New Zealand take on Sri Lanka on the 29th of March in Colombo and Pakistan take on India in Mohali on the 30th of March. The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup final will be played on the 2nd of April 2011.

Also feel free to check out the following posts on the Junk Mail blog, you might find them interesting:

  • 2011 Super 15 (Formerly Super 14) Rugby Match Schedule


Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 5 =