2011 IRB Rugby World Cup Springbok Squad Announced

The 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup Springbok Squad was announced on live television last night. 18 members of South Africa’s 2007 Rugby World Cup-winning squad have been included in the group of 30 players.

John Smit will again lead the challenge. He is supported by 11 other survivors of the victorious 2007 starting XV. Smit is 1 of 6 players who will be appearing at their third Rugby World Cup. There are no uncapped players in the squad and all but 3 have appeared in this season’s Tri-Nations tournament (loose forwards Schalk Burger & Francois Louw and lock Johann Muller – they were ruled out of the competition due to injury earlier this year).

The 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup Springbok Squad contains 9 players who appeared in Super Rugby for the Bulls this season, 8 from the Sharks and 7 from the Stormers. A number of players are now moving on to overseas clubs though. 4 players in the squad are now based overseas: Ulster duo Ruan Pienaar & Johann Muller, Racing Metro’s Frans Steyn and Francois Louw who is now moved to the Bath club in England.

This is the list of 30 players who have been selected for the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup Springbok Squad:

  • Forwards: John Smit (captain), Victor Matfield (vice-captain), Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Heinrich Brussow, Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Johann Muller, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Danie Rossouw, Pierre Spies, Gurthro Steenkamp, CJ van der Linde.
  • Backs: Gio Aplon, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Butch James, Pat Lambie, Odwa Ndungane, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Francois Steyn, Morne Steyn.

Members of the Springbok IRB Rugby World Cup management team: Peter de Villiers (head coach), Gary Gold (assistant coach), Dick Muir (assistant coach), Percy Montgomery (kicking coach), Jacques Nienaber (defence coach/physiotherapist), Malome Maimane (technical analyst), Rassie Erasmus (technical specialist), Neels Liebel (conditioning coach), Derik Coetzee (conditioning coach), Craig Roberts (doctor), Rene Naylor (physiotherapist), Vivian Verwant (physiotherapist), Daliah Hurwitz (massage therapist), Charles Wessels (logistics manager), Mkiti Malakoane (baggage master), Annelee Murray (PR), Andy Colquhoun (media).

The Junk Mail Team would like to take this opportunity to wish the South African Rugby World Cup Squad the best of luck in the upcoming tournament. The Springboks will be on their to way to New Zealand on the 1st of September. The Springboks’ first match of the tournament will be against Wales on the 11th of September.

Check out the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup Match Schedule post for a complete list of fixtures in the tournament.

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − seven =