2012 Currie Cup Final Coming This Weekend

The 2012 Currie Cup Final is around the corner. In case you forgot, the 2012 Currie Cup Rugby Semi-Final matches were played last weekend. The Sharks took on the Blue Bulls in Durban and the Golden Lions took on Western Province in Johannesburg.

In the first 2012 Currie Cup Semi-Final match at Mr Price Kings Park in Durban the Sharks were just too strong for the visiting Blue Bulls. Flyhalf Patrick Lambie kicked over 5 penalties and wing Lwazi Mvovo scored one try for the Sharks in the match. The Blue Bulls were not on the top of their game and only managed to score 3 points (thanks for flyhalf Morné Steyn). At the end of the match the scoreboard read 20-3 and the Blue Bulls were knocked out of the 2012 Currie Cup rugby tournament.

The second 2012 Currie Cup Semi-Final match at Coca-Cola Park in Johannesburg was a different affair. At times it looked like the Golden Lions were dominating the match, but Western Province brought their A-game in the last 20 minutes. Both teams played good rugby and it was tightly contested affair. Joe Pietersen and Duane Vermeulen scored the tries, Joe Pietersen kicked over a penalty and a conversion and Demetri Catrakilis kicked over two penalties for Western Province. The Golden Lions try was scored by Michael Rhodes. Elton Jantjies converted the try and kicked over two penalties and Ruan Combrinck kicked over another. In the end Western Province won the match by 21 points to 16.

Great news for Western Province and Sharks fans is that the 2012 Currie Cup final is being played in Durban at Mr Price Kings Park on Saturday (the 27th of October).

The Sharks team for Saturday includes Louis Ludik, JP Pietersen, Paul Jordaan, Tim Whitehead, Lwazi Mvovo, Patrick Lambie, Cobus Reinach, Keegan Daniel  (captain), Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Anton Bresler, Steven Sykes, Jannie du Plessis, Craig Burden and Tendai Mtawarira.  The players on the Sharks substitute bench are Kyle Cooper, Wiehahn Herbst, Jandre Marais, Jean Deysel, Charl McLeod, Meyer Bosman and Odwa Ndungane

The Western Province  team for Saturday includes Gio Aplon, Gerhard van den Heever, Juan de Jongh, Damian de Allende, Bryan Habana, Demetri Catrakilis, Nic Groom, Duane Vermeulen, Don Armand, Deon Fourie (captain), De Kock Steenkamp, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Scarra Ntubeni and Steven Kitshoff. The Western Province substitutes are Deon Carstens,  Brok Harris, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Jebb Sinclair, Louis Schreuder, Marcel Brache, Joe Pietersen, Jebb Sinclair, Louis Schreuder and Marcel Brache.

Only time will tell who be the 2012 Currie Cup champions. Western Province will be trying to win the Currie Cup trophy for the first time since 2001 and the Sharks will be trying to win it for the first time since 2010. The final kicks off at 5 PM on Saturday! It’s going to be a cracking match if you ask me.

Who do you think is going to win? Leave a comment on this post and let us know. We’d like to hear your thoughts! If you’re looking for tickets for the 2012 Currie Cup final, you want to check out the Event Tickets category on Junk Mail, you might just find the tickets that you need!

If you’ve found this post interesting and informing, please feel free to share it with your friends on Facebook and Twitter. Remember: Sharing is Caring. Also feel free to check out the other posts in the Sport category on the Junk Mail blog.

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

ten − 2 =