India Victorious in 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

On the 2nd of April (this past week Saturday) India took on Sri Lanka in the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup Final. The match was played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India.

Sri Lanka batted first and managed to managed to score 274/6 in their innings. Sri Lanka had some useful contributions to their scoreline by Mahela Jayawardena (103), Kumar Sangakkara (48) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (33). Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh each took 2 wickets for India. Harbhajan Singh was responsible for 1 wicket and 1 Sri Lankan batsmen was run out.

India came in to bat. Sehwag was caught LBW off the 2nd ball of the Indian innings and the Indians lost their 2nd wicket (Tendulkar) with only 31 runs on the scoreboard. India recovered nicely thanks to a 83 run partnership between Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli for the 3rd wicket. Gambhir went on to score 97 before being dismissed by Perera in the 42nd over. Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni (who ended the match on 91 not out) ensured that India score the winning runs in the 49th over of their innings.

Its the first time since 1983 that India have won a ICC Cricket World Cup. Their previous victory was in 1983 (although the Cricket World Cup format has changed a lot over the years).

The Junk Mail team would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the Indian team with their victory

Also feel free to check out the following interesting posts on the Junk Mail blog. You might find them interesting:


Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen − eleven =