Preliminary Springbok squad announced for the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup

The 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup kicks off in 81 days in New Zealand on the 9th of September.

The 49 man preliminary Springbok squad for the tournament was named today in Johannesburg. 21 guys on the list were part of the squad that won the 2007 IRB Rugby World Cup in France. The final Springbok squad for the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup will be named on the 23rd of August and will contain a list of 30 names.

This is the list of players that have been selected for the 49 man preliminary Springbok IRB Rugby World Cup squad for 2011:

  • Willem Alberts (The Sharks)
  • Gio Aplon (DHL Western Province)
  • Bjorn Basson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Andries Bekker (DHL Western Province)
  • Bakkies Botha (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • BJ Botha (Ulster)
  • Heinrich Brüssow (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Schalk Burger (DHL Western Province)
  • Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province)
  • Jean de Villiers (DHL Western Province)
  • Bismarck du Plessis (The Sharks)
  • Jannie du Plessis (The Sharks)
  • Fourie du Preez (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Jaque Fourie (DHL Western Province)
  • Dean Greyling (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Bryan Habana (DHL Western Province)
  • Alistair Hargreaves (The Sharks)
  • Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Adrian Jacobs (The Sharks)
  • Butch James (MTN Golden Lions)
  • Elton Jantjies (MTN Golden Lions)
  • Enrico Januarie (DHL Western Province)
  • Ashley Johnson (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Ryan Kankowski (The Sharks)
  • Zane Kirchner (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Werner Kruger (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Patrick Lambie (The Sharks)
  • Francois Louw (DHL Western Province)
  • Victor Matfield (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Tendai Mtawarira (The Sharks)
  • Johann Muller (Ulster)
  • Lwazi Mvovo (The Sharks)
  • Odwa Ndungane (The Sharks)
  • Wynand Olivier (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
  • JP Pietersen (The Sharks)
  • Chiliboy Ralepelle (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Danie Rossouw (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • John Smit (The Sharks)
  • Juan Smith (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Pierre Spies (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Gurthrö Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Deon Stegmann (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Frans Steyn (Racing Metro)
  • Morne Steyn (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Adriaan Strauss (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Duane Vermeulen (DHL Western Province)

16 Bulls players, 10 Western Province players, 12 Sharks Players, 5 Cheetahs players and 2 Lions players were included in this 49 man squad. 4 Players that play their rugby in other countries were included in the list.

This might be a preliminary squad, but it just goes to show that there is no shortage of talent in South African rugby. What are your thoughts about this squad? Please comment on this post and let the readers of the Junk Mail Blog know what you think. Feedback is appreciated. Also feel free to share this post with your friends.

You might also want to check out these posts on the Junk Mail blog:


Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

eight + sixteen =