Spain and the Netherlands to meet in 2010 FIFA World Cup final

It turns out that the Paul the Psychic octopus was right. Spain beat Germany for the first time ever in a FIFA World Cup match to advance to their first FIFA World Cup final in history. The match was played last night at Moses Mabhida stadium in Durban.

It was a very intense match. The German and Spanish teams did not give each other a lot of space for movement and there were minimal cracks in both sides’ defensive lines. In the 73rd minute of the match, Carles Puyol headed the ball into the German net from a Xavi corner kick to put Spain ahead. The Germans tried their best to get back into the match but could not crack the Spanish defensive line. Spain held on until the end of the match.

This is a great achievement for Spain. They are currently ranked 2nd on the FIFA rankings (behind Brazil). Spain hosted the 1982 FIFA World Cup. This European nation has never won a FIFA World Cup. This is Spain’s 13th appearance in a FIFA World Cup tournament (since 1934). No one expected this team to make it this far in the tournament. Spain lost their first match against Switzerland but recovered when beat Honduras and Chile (in the group stages). They beat Portugal in the 2nd round and knocked out Paraguay in the quarter finals before their face-off with Germany.

The Netherlands will be their opponents in the final. They too have never won a FIFA World Cup tournament. The Netherlands have reached 2 finals in previous FIFA World Cup tournaments. In 1974 they lost against hosts West Germany and in 1978 they lost against hosts Argentina. The Dutch want to put the past behind them and are looking for their first FIFA World Cup title. They’ve been one of the favorites to win the tournament since it started on the 11th of June. The Netherlands have not lost a single match in the 2010 FIFA World Cup tournament. On their road to the FIFA World Cup final they beat Denmark, Japan and Cameroon (in the group stages of the tournament), knocked out Slovakia (in the 2nd round), knocked out Brazil (in the Quarter finals) and knocked out Uruguay in the semi-final.

The losing nations in the semi-final matches will face-off in the 3rd / 4th play-off match at Nelson Mandela Bay stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday. Both Uruguay and Germany will be looking to restore some pride after their semi-final losses. The 2010 FIFA World Cup final will be played on Sunday the 11th of June at Soccer City stadium in Johannesburg. The match kicks off at 8:30 PM.

Who do you think will win the 2010 FIFA World Cup? Please vote in our poll on the sidebar and let us know. Feedback on this post is appreciated.

We have posted an update which features 2 Psychic predictions for the 2010 FIFA World Cup final, check it out.

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

40 Responses

  1. mohammed al qhadaffi zaff says:


  2. Mac says:

    Netherlands Of Course!!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Well, I think it has been quite well since the world cup started. Some countries went out on a sad note but I think we have come to the end of it. For me I think that Spain will win the cup and thats is what i know.

  4. Pieter says:

    Dis Holland al die pad 2 – 1

  5. Pieter says:

    Oranje bo 2  – 1

  6. seinie says:

    eenie meenie mini mow who will win we don’t know,when the game is done and the game is won ,eenie meenie minow mow, Viva Espanja or maybe Netherlands.

  7. seinie says:

    VIVA ESPANJE…………………………………………………………………………………….


  8. Anton Meerkotter says:

    Holland to win the World Cup! They’re the only team to have all their WCQ matches won and then all their WCF matches won.   That is 13 WC wins in a row.  Spain on the other hand like talking about unbeaten runs, but what about talking about winning streaks?  To win the finals you’ll have to win! I’m not saying that it will be easy, but it’s possible.  As much as it’s true that Spain conceded only 1 goal in 6 matches it’s also true that Holland is the only team that made it to even the semi-finals scorring in all their matches.  They are surely the favourates in my eyes.  I say a 1-0 win or 2-1 win in favour of Holland.  Holland won all their matches in normal regulation time. You need guts(or ignorance) to vote against them.  Either way I’m happy to see we’ll have a 8th country to win the world cup for the first time and the first european country to win the world cup outside of their continent. VIVA HOLLAND!

  9. Adriana says:


  10. omary kawaya says:

    Spain is and is gonna take this World Cup. Watch out! Do not mind about Paul le Poulpe!

  11. Leon (aka GhOsT) says:

    wel om eerlik te wees dink ek nie dat die Nederlanse span n kaans staan teen Spain nie en ek gaan by dit hou. Spain gaan die worldcup huis to vat sonder n probleem. Nederland sorry niks teen julle nie maar spain is die beter span.

  12. Leon (aka GhOsT) says:

    Dude jy moet weer dink oor jou span, want spain gaan oor julle loop.

  13. Anna Konidaris says:

    Spain 2 Netherlands 1 – Spain the winner! Go Spain! Go Spain! Yay! Since my team is out! Ah man, Brazil

  14. Ernest says:

    Nederland om te wen 3-1

  15. Johan says:

    Pieter, ten volle agter jou. 2-1 wen vir Holland

  16. Johan says:

    Moenie te verseker wees nie. Daai kaaskoppe moet jy mee mors nie.

  17. Anonymous says:

    Spain will win the world cup

  18. evans says:

    Netherlands 2 Spain 1. Netherlands will win the World Cup final!

  19. Anonymous says:

    Spain will definately win the World Cup!

  20. LESLIE says:

    My money is on Spain all the way!

  21. clement says:

    Spain is going to win 2-0 and Villa will score

  22. john says:

    The Netherlands 15 Spain 1

  23. Anonymous says:

    España!!! 2 – 1

  24. Guys I think Spain will take it although this is a game anyone can take it. The big guns have lost. So we are not that shame with Bafana Bafana at all.

  25. Blommie says:

    Defnitief Nederland.  Hulle verdien dit om die wereldbeker te wen!!!! Gou Holland Gou!!!!!!!

  26. Marthie says:

    Holland will win. Jan van Riebeeck landed here. This is the 1st world cup in Africa. There for history will be re-written.

  27. hoosain says:

    Viva Espanje

  28. Anonymous says:

    Well … THE BEST TEAM HAS WON!!! OLE OLE OLE OLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  29. Lester says:

    Your ignorance left you ashamed.. Ai ai ai… Any true soccer fan would’ve known Spain would be the champions by their style, cleverness and defence!! Viva Espana!! La Furia Roja!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 + ten =