Springbok Squad Announced for Upcoming Test Series Against England

Jean De Villiers and Heyneke MeyerFor those of you who did not know, the Springboks will be playing 3 tests against England in June 2012. The first test is played this weekend Saturday (the 9th of June) at Kings Park in Durban. The second test is played in Johannesburg at Coca Cola Park on the 16th of June and the third test is played at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on the 23rd of June. All three matches kick off at 17:00 on the day

The Springbok squad for this test series was announced on Saturday after the Super 15 match between the Vodacom Bulls and the DHL Stormers. The 32 man squad includes 9 uncapped players. 15 players that were part of the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup Springbok squad were recalled and the squad also includes 9 players who were members of the winning 2007 IRB Rugby World Cup Springbok team. Bryan Habana (who has played 74 tests for the Springboks) is the most experienced player in the named squad and 6 other players have played in more than 40 tests for South Africa.

Yesterday SA Rugby announced that the Springboks would be captained by Jean De Villiers (the current Stormers captain). De Villiers made his Springbok debut in 2002. He’s the 54th person to be named Springbok captain in history and he’s also the 10th most-capped Springbok player of all time.

The Full Squad (which has 32 members) is as follows:

Backs: Zane Kirchner (Bulls), JP Pietersen (Sharks), JJ Engelbrecht (Bulls), Jean de Villiers (Stormers), Wynand Olivier (Bulls), Francois Steyn (Racing Metro/FRA), Bryan Habana (Stormers), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Bulls), Morne Steyn (Bulls), Patrick Lambie (Sharks), Elton Jantjies (Golden Lions), Francois Hougaard (Bulls), Jano Vermaak (Bulls), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster/IRL)

Forwards: Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Bulls), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Werner Kruger (Bulls), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Flip van der Merwe (Bulls), Franco van der Merwe (Lions), Juandre Kruger (Bulls), Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), Willem Alberts (Sharks), Pierre Spies (Bulls), Ryan Kankowski (Sharks), Keegan Daniel (Sharks), Jacques Potgieter (Bulls)

Some of you might be searching for tickets for one of these Springbok matches. We suggest that you check out the Event Tickets category on Junk Mail regularly for them. Chances are good that rugby fans will be attempting to sell their excess tickets.

If you are struggling to find tickets, you are also welcome to place a Free Wanted Advert on Junk Mail to attract potential sellers.

Henno Kruger

Digital Marketing Campaign Coordinator at Junk Mail Publishing.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

6 − three =